Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Scotties Celebrate Year at Athletics Awards Banquet

Scotties Celebrate Year at Athletics Awards Banquet

DECATUR, Ga.—For one night, Agnes Scott Athletics had the opportunity to celebrate the accomplishments of many Scotties throughout the 2017-18 academic year during the department's annual Athletics Awards Banquet. The event was held on April 25 in the Leticia Pate Evans Dining Hall with a dinner and awards ceremony as the highlights.

Cross country senior Faridah Nalunkuuma (Kampala, Uganda) was named the Agnes Scott Sportswoman of the Year after a standout final season in purple. Alexis "Slim" Smith (Memphis, Tenn.), a volleyball senior, received the Lauren Giddings Character Award after positively impacting the Agnes Scott College community as a whole for four years. Sophomore Garis Grant (Charleston, S.C.) was voted the recipient of the Ambassador Award for her stellar work and contributions in several different places on campus. Dual-sport athlete Tiara White (Sinton, Texas) was the department's Rookie of the Year after starting a majority of games in both volleyball and softball, earning All-Conference honors in the spring.

Coaches' Award winners were Miranda Moore (Cross Country), Erin Innis (Soccer), Bonnie Derks (Volleyball), Natasha Banks (Basketball), Jamie Candler (Softball), Jacy Pippin (Tennis).

Team MVP winners were Nalunkuuma (Cross Country), Zoey Perchaluk (Soccer), Resa Knott (Volleyball, Grant (Basketball), Alexei Young (Softball) and Camille Wilson (Tennis). 

The athletic department, as well as Agnes Scott SAAC, had the chance to celebrate a few faculty and staff members whose efforts in their own respective roles made positive impacts on student-athletes. Sarah Winget, Chair of the Chemistry department, was given the SAAC Faculty Award, while Assistant Dean for Student Development Karissa Tedesco was named the SAAC Staff Award winner of the year. Michelle Hamm, Director of the Wellness Center received the Agnes Scott Athletics Department Award for her consistent partnership with athletics to provide care to student-athletes.

Scotties also had the chance to say a formal goodbye to President Elizabeth Kiss and Athletic Director Beth Vansant, who both depart the Agnes Scott community after a decade or more in service to the institution. 

To stay up to date on all things Agnes Scott Athletics, follow the Scotties on social media on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.